Faculty of Engineering proud of its latest NRF-rated researchers

Faculty of Engineering proud of its latest NRF-rated researchers

The Faculty of Engineering at Stellenbosch University (SU) is extremely thrilled with seven academic staff members that were awarded NRF ratings recently. These ratings are valid until 2028.

NRF ratings are allocated based on a researcher’s recent research outputs and impact, as international peer reviewers perceive. The ratings are awarded within the following categories:

  • Category A: Leading international researchers
  • Category B: Internationally acclaimed researchers
  • Category C: Established researchers
  • Category P: Prestigious awards
  • Category Y: Promising young researchers (40 years and younger)

Noteworthy is the increase of NRF-rated researchers within the Faculty: from 47 in 2022 to 53 in 2023. https://www.eng.sun.ac.za/about-us/

Below is a list of the faculty’s latest NRF-rated researchers with the rating they currently hold:

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Prof DB Davidson (Extraordinary Professor) – B2

Civil Engineering

Prof GPAG Van Zijl (Professor) – B2

Prof KE Wolff (Associate Professor) – C2

Chemical Engineering

Prof CE Schwarz (Associate Professor) – B3

Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

Prof SJ van der Spuy (Professor and Departmental Chairman) – C1

Industrial Engineering

Prof J Grobler (Associate Professor) – C3

The Centre for Renewable and Sustainable Energy Studies (CRSES) 

Dr M Egieya (Postdoctoral Fellow) – Y2

📸 – Prof Davidson, Prof Van Zijl, Prof Schwarz, Prof Van der Spuy, Prof Wolff, Prof Grobler and Dr Egieya (photos are arranged according to NRF’s rating category).